AFRIMMA Awards: Nigerian Afrobeat artists win big this year

Written by on September 20, 2023

Nigerian Afrobeat artists win big in the 2023 AFRIMMA Awards

Nigerian Afrobeat artists win big in the 2023 AFRIMMA Awards

For a decade, The AFRIMMA has continually flaunt Africa arts, culture and music to the world as this year’s edition brings a remarkable shine to the Nigeria Music Industry.

The 2023 AFRIMMA Awards event held on the 18th of September 2023 at the Meyerson Symphony Centre in Dallas Texas marks the 10th anniversary.


As always, the AFRIMMA Awards poses to unveil plethora of stars with their various talent and artistic composition across Africa.

2023 AFRIMMA Awards was spectacular as its showcases and celebrate a lot of Nigeria sensational artists like never before.


The Show of A-lists Nigerian artists include;  Davido, Blaqbonez, KCee, Rema, Timaya, Spyro, Odumoblvck, Ayra Starr and Tiwa Savage as they emerge winners in different categories.

CEO DMW, Davido, took home the Album of the Year award for his fourth, record-breaking album, “Timeless,”.


The Best Female for West Africa award went to Ayra Starr, while Rema won Artist of the Year.

The Best Live Performance award went to Flavour and Odumodublvck won the Best Newcomer award . The Best Rap Act award went to Blaqbonez, the AFRIMMA Legendary award went to KCee,


Timaya won the Lifetime Achievement award while Best Rap Act award went to Blaqbonez, the AFRIMMA Legendary award went to KCee.

The best Collaboration award goes to Spyro and Tiwa Savage in the song “Who is your Guy?”


Here are the winner’s lists

Artist of the Year

  • Rema – Nigeria

Best Male West Africa

  • King Promise – Ghana

Best Female West Africa

  • Ayra Starr – Nigeria

Best Male East Africa

  • Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania

Best Female East Africa

  • Nadia Mukami – Kenya

Best Male Central Africa

  • Fabregas – DR Congo

Best Male Southern Africa

  • AKA – South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa

  • Nadia Nakai – South Africa

Best Newcomer

  • Odumodu Blvck – Nigeria

Best Gospel

  • Mike Kalambay – DRC

Best Live Act

  • Flavour – Nigeria

Best Male Rap Act

  • Blaqbonez – Nigeria

Best Collaboration

  • Spyro x Tiwa Savage – ‘Who’s Your Guy?’

Best DJ Africa

  • Ms DSF – Nigeria

Best African DJ USA

  • DJ Freshy K – Nigeria

Music Producer of the Year

  • Maajabu Gospel

Best Francophone

  • Fally Ipupa – DR Congo

Best African Group

  • Toofan – Togo

AFRIMMA Album of the Year

  • Davido – Timeless

Lifetime Achievement Award


Fally Ipupa (DR Congo) and Timaya (Nigeria)




Tagged as

Current track