Written by on November 30, 2021

It was a big night for Nigerian superstar Wizkid and Tems as their collaborative song ‘Essence’ off Wizkid’s Made in Lagos album won the “Best Collaboration” category at the 2021 Soul Train Awards defeating songs like ‘Go Crazy Remix’ by Chris Brown, ‘Kiss Me More’ by Doja Cat, ‘Come Through’ by H.E.R, ‘Girl Like Me’ by Jazmine Sullivan, and ‘You’re Mines Still’ by Yung Bleu featuring Drake.

Wizkid and Tems were nominated for five awards apiece at the 2021 Soul Train Awards, as Wizkid was nominated for ‘Album of the Year’ with Made in Lagos while Tems was nominated for the ‘Best New Artist’.
They were also jointly nominated for the ‘Song of The Year’, ‘Video of The Year’, ‘The Ashford and Simpson songwriter’s’ award, and ‘Best Collaboration’ for the smash hit song, ‘Essence’ which they eventually won.
Other winners on the night includes, Bruno Mars, Anderson. Paak (Silk Sonic) with their song ‘Leave the Door Open’ which won ‘Song of the Year’, ‘Video of the Year’, and ‘The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award’.
Jazmine Sullivan won ‘Album of the Year’ and ‘Best R&B/Soul Female Artiste’ while Giveon won ‘Best R&B/Soul Male Artiste’.
The ‘Best Gospel/Inspirational Award’ went to Kirk Franklin, while Normani featuring Cardi B, ‘Wild Side’ won ‘Best Dance Performance’ and the ‘Best New Artist’ which Tems was also nominated went to Yung Bleu.

Current track